dfb24

By dfb24

Iced!

This morning my husband & I decided to go to McKinley Marina to take some pictures. In the summer, it's bustling with activity--boats coming in & going out, people fishing off the edges of the piers, lots of people walking & jogging--today, there was nothing! My idea was to park & go to the concrete walkway that winds out over the lake, if it was open. But the entire parking lot-- as well as the road that goes back to the walkway--were all covered in about 2 inches of ice! There was no way I could walk over it, as the ice was uneven & pockmarked with holes. So my husband drove (on the "do not enter" ) frozen road, & parked right along side the concrete wall near the lake! It was still icy, but I could manage. Today was one of the days that I had trouble deciding which photo to use. Everything around was thickly coated in ice--the small trees, the concrete wall, the breakers--all totally covered from the waves crashing up & then freezing. I finally decided on this one, as I loved the tree totally encased in ice, with all the little icicles hanging down the branches! You can see the ice coated concrete wall in the foreground, the ice coated rocks behind, & the lake out beyond! I 've put more of the pics in my blipfolio, under "landscape" in case you'd like to look. (best viewed LARGE.) :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.