MaryannA

By MaryannA

Happy Anniversary Mom and Dad ~1938!

Remembering my parents on their anniversary! I guess that was their "New Beginnings" way back then. They met a few years before at a wedding (top left photo). My father was Best Man (cousin of the groom) and my mother was Maid of Honor (bride's best friend). They had a fairy tale meeting and a fairy tale courtship which led to a very special fairy tale wedding. These great old photos were uncovered in the attic space when I was cleaning out the house to sell it and move. My daughter asked many questions about those days and I told her as much as I remember being told. As a surprise, my daughter has created a beautiful scrapbook and these are some of the pages. I am happy to have these memories to reflect on. This was 76 years ago! The dried flower is a calla lily from her wedding bouquet!

The link above was from the "I Love Lucy" series that was and still is one of my favorite shows. Lucille Ball was just about the same age as my mom and the series spanned the early 50's. I feel as though I watched our life on TV everyday growing up!

Today is cooler and damp, dull and gloomy looking. Hoping for a sunny day tomorrow to make the ride a pleasant one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.