The Usher Hall

Another after dark blip of an Edinburgh landmark building. I drive past this building every week and have been meaning to blip it for ages, but it is extremely difficult to park anywhere near the Usher Hall so I've never managed until tonight.

My intended target was a shot of Edinburgh Castle as seen from Castle Terrace, as I could park there quite easily this evening, but after I took some pictures of the castle I realised that I was only a few yards from the back of the Usher Hall. I nipped round to Lothian Road, got a few photos and jumped back in the car for the drive to Glasgow.

The Usher Hall sits on Lothian Road and was built in 1914. On either side of it are the Traverse Theatre and the Royal Lyceum Theatre. It has undergone a major refurbishment recently and not unsurprisingly for a building of this importance it is A listed.

The building is called the Usher Hall because its construction was financed by Andrew Usher, a whisky distiller who donated £100, 000 to Edinburgh for the building of a new concert hall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.