dunelmian77

By dunelmian77

The Valley of Mist

Sounds like the title of a Sherlock Holmes story...

Slightly different angle to last night's shot, this was taken about 2pm. It poured as I walked to work, bright sunshine by mid-morning, rain again by lunchtime. It's been one of those strange days!

Tonight I may well finish watching The Bridge (series 1). I'm only 2 episodes away from the end.

I'm going to be at work in the morning to help my colleagues turn around the Bill amendments. I've never understood why Parliament committees can't give a longer turnaround for amendments.

The Government receives them from the Committee clerk late on a Thursday night. Friday is spent drafting responses and speaking notes and clearing these with solicitors. They then have to be grouped over the weekend, checked on Monday and submitted to the Minister for clearance and then debated in the Committee in the Tuesday.

Given the working hours of the Parliament are designed to be family friendly (unlike Westminster with its all-night sittings), I'm not sure I understand why this doesn't extend to the Bill Teams who are in during the weekends and late at night during the passage of a Bill.

I shouldn't whinge too much though, as I did volunteer to help out tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.