New day - new beginnings

By gudnypalina

Saying farewell

Today Ásgrímur, my mother's husband, passed away. I'm very grateful for those 14 years they got. My mother was a widow and he a widower, when they started talking over the telephone, and soon my mother moved across the country and they married. They had known each other before, and Ásgrímur helped build my parent's house. The same house I live in today. I'm also grateful for having been able to visit my mother last weekend, and being able to talk to Ásgrímur for the last time.

Today I also said farewell to a woman who lived in my street for many years. She was an extremely kind lady, who always took care of others, and had a beautiful smile. I started the day attending her funeral.

Then I went to work, and like those last two days, there was a lot of traffic. Everybody was talking about how sad it was that we are closing the shop, and as the shelfs got emptier, I felt more sorrow in my heart.

So this has been a challenging day in many ways.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.