ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Music, Love and Laughter.

M and A’s wedding today! I got up early to sort out my hair and get some fake tan onto my very very white legs. Mum and Dad got up later and M cooked us up some breakfast... A mix of pretty much everything that was sitting still in the kitchen this morning! Yum.

Dad was preparing himself to drive home; he doesn’t do well staying away from his painting studio, so we all waved him off before M and I left for the wedding. We got the bus out to Alford, where the bride’s family own a farm. When we arrived we were shown to a barn with a marquee inside, decorated with fairy lights and poinsettiers... Beautiful, if a little cold! The ceremony was humanitarian, which I’m a huge fan of, and both fathers read poems which was lovely.

Afterwards, we warmed up with some mulled wine and had a chat to the other guests. I was surprised by how many I knew as they’d all been to school with M and then stayed in Aberdeen, where I’d met them on various nights out and gatherings! It was good to see A and L who were over from Norway, although they’d left junior A with his doting grandma for the wedding. The wedding breakfast was fantastic, with a hog roast, burgers, hot dogs and a table groaning with side dishes! We were all starving so I ate a ridiculous amount... But the band came on soon afterwards and I think I burned most of it off :o)

The first band was a ceilidh band, and the bride and groom had a traditional first dance before we all joined in. I love a good ceilidh and it was so much fun. The second band was a group called Pie Shop, who did rock covers. They were fantastic! A really unusual choice for a wedding but they had everyone on the floor dancing like lunatics. M and I danced all night and I even managed to keep my shoes on for most of it! We had a quick break for cake, then carried on dancing until the buses came to pick us up again. It was a brilliant wedding with an ace atmosphere. I hope mine and M’s is just as raucous and happy.

Not happy with this photo - the best of a very poor bunch... I was struggling in the low light with my compact and to be honest - I was too busy dancing! Don’t they look delighted, though?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.