ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Leftovers Pie.

We've had a lovely Christmas at Albury this year. I must upload all of the photos soon! I've been too busy having fun :o)

Today M was back to work, so Mum, Dad and I got ready and headed out to town to pick up M's kilt for the wedding we're going to tomorrow. We had planned on parking the car and doing a bit of sales-shopping, but town was jam-packed... instead we drove back home and left the car outside the house instead. Much easier! Mum and I did a tour of the shops and picked up a few wee bits I was needing. I found two pretty dresses in the sale (one of which I was eying up before it had any money off it - thank goodness I had the patience to wait)!

When we got home, M was back from work and I'd just popped the pie in the oven when his lifeboat pager went off. When it was cooked, I just wrapped the pie in tin-foil and lots of teatowels to keep warm while Mum, Dad and I played a game of Scrabble. I lost spectacularly! We'd just finished as M arrived back home from the shout and I think a plate of hot food was just what he was needing. The filling is leftover gammon and turkey, from Christmas Eve and Christmas Day respectively, bulked up with some leeks and a creamy white sauce. Yum yum!

Just settling down with a glass of red wine, Star Wars on the TV (with Dad quietly explaining to Mum in the background what's going on and who's who) and a Heston Blumenthal Christmas Pudding - a whole crystallised orange at the centre - warming for dessert.

Dad travels home tomorrow but Mum will stay with us a bit longer. I think a few more walks on the beach will be in order to burn off a bit of the holiday food!

P.S. Yes - all homemade, including the pastry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.