ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Squiffy.

After our aborted attempt to head up to Banff to see Aunt J on Christmas Eve, we had a second go today which was much more successful! After breakfast, Mum, Dad, M and I all piled into Harakiri and drove up the coast. Aunt J was really unwell with a cold, poor thing. She still made us all a cracking lunch of lamb and roast vegetables, which we all demolished in minutes!

The menfolk retired to the living room to watch Star Wars (or possibly Trek) and Mum, Aunt J and I stayed in the kitchen to discuss mine and M’s wedding. I showed Aunt J a picture of my dress and think she really liked it. She’s also agreed to make us a quilt as our wedding present, so I’m excited to plan that with her.

We had time for a quick game of Scrabble before we had to head back to Aberdeen, which I managed to win! It’s unusual for me to beat both Mum and Aunt J in one sitting; I think I had lucky tiles :o)

On our return to Aberdeen we had time to pick up a bottle of wine and get changed before walking down to M’s parents’ house for a Boxing Day dinner – delish. M’s Mum had made a really lovely fish pie, and there was some of his Grandma’s trifle left from yesterday for pudding – mmmmh!

Lovely day with family and lots of nice food. It all feels like it’s over now, but we still have M’s pal’s wedding to look forward to on Saturday and New Year after that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.