My eyes are bigger than my bookcase

I have a shelf upon which I keep the books I've bought but have yet to read. Just before Christmas, there were twenty-eight books on it (although I have read two of them since: see here and here). I thought to myself, "Less buying, more reading".

And then for Christmas, I received another seven (admittedly three of them were actually from me), eliciting a small creak from the shelf. Now was the time to start adding books to my wishlist and not to my shopping basket.

And then the David Sylvian book came out and, well, I wanted to read that *immediately* and it did, indeed, perform a mighty queue jump upon its arrival although its size and dense print means it may be a while before I move onto anything new.

But, anyway, that was surely enough. Of course it was.

And then I saw this. The book concerns a man who found a lost Nick Drake recording and took it out onto the streets, playing it to complete strangers, taking their photographs and noting down their comments. This was irresistible to me.

And so, YES, I BOUGHT IT!

PS It's just occurred to me that part of the appeal was the similarity to this, the project I did with my friend Jon a couple of years ago.

PPS Do you think that's Martin Freeman on the cover?

PPPS I checked. It is him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.