Bassenthwaite by moonlight

Please look BIG!

Sorry it's a backblip guys, but it was getting late!

Really wet day in the Eden valley today - and although I nipped out for a bit, I still wasn't happy with what I got. Though at one point looking out the office window, I did spot a mouse running in and out of our front hedge. I also took a wander in the rain round Keswick, but was struggling to get something up to standard.

They're on Flickr - links from the text above!

I lectured at Workington Camera Club last night, showing a selection of my Lake District images and my last Photo Tour to Iceland. Delighted to say it was well received, and I hope they learned a bit about exposure and composition as well as looking at a load of photos!

Rather than driving all the way back to Maulds, I stayed over at Keswick for the night. With some free time on my hands, after getting home, I put on my outdoor kit and drove back to the edge of Bassenthwaite Lake hoping for a blippable night-shot. wind rippling across the lake prevented me from going for the reflection of Skiddaw, but there was enough moonlight shining through the clouds to work without a torch, and silhouette the trees against the night sky. Happy at last - 11.45pm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.