intothehills

By intothehills

Sneachda

The coire of the snows...
After yesterdays awful weather today we'd gone into Sneachda to look at all the reported avalanches. The three main Grade I gully's had all avalanched the previous day - and we'd come in to hone our avalanche searching skills on the actual terrain involved. It was an excellent teaching day - doing something in a live environment always makes for an accelerated learning curve - and by the end of the day we were all locating beacons in under three minutes - and hopefully digging people out in the vital first 15.
Avalanches (well after the event) it turns out, do not make for great photograph's -and I should know -I've took about 20 pictures which all came out looking thoroughly underwhelming. But as is so often the case - in a brief lull in the digging I turned around - and the beauty of the Highlands was laid out behind me.
It's always worth stopping to look around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.