intothehills

By intothehills

Fading Light

We'd battled our way up onto the plateau in appalling conditions - wet heavy snow fell faster than you could wipe it off - as we passed the Ptarmigan cafe full of skiers & boarders having another latte before venturing out we must have looked truly abominable . Once we reached our venue for the day (the steep slopes to the East of Cairngorm summit) it all got a little better. Heads down concentrating on first our navigation and then our ropework I don't think any of us paid much attention to the change in the weather - this was day five and we'd already experienced the best and worst the Scottish Winter has to offer.
As is often the case, by day five we've bonded a little - we're accepting of each others weaknesses and appreciative of their strengths - I'm happy to be responsible for teaching the rope work - John seems to really like digging - we've become an efficient team just ahead of the transfer window.
By 16:00 we're heading back to the Lodge for debrief's and one last cake. Somewhere* on the slopes of Windy Ridge I look up to be enticed by this panorama - Scotland seems keen to remind me why I'll keep heading back North.
* After a week on a course I feel I should point out I was at NH 998 058

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.