Cranbourn Street

I went to "The Societies"' convention at the Hilton London Metropole hotel today. This is a photographic trade show in a slightly congested hotel environment. I was particularly looking at framing and display stands (of which there were plenty) but I had a good look around everything on show. Most of the talks, demonstrations and "masterclasses" were paid for extras, which I didn't bother with, but there were a few free demos on some stands. Plenty to look at, and I spent a pleasant few hours there.

Afterwards I headed towards Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square. This picture was taken in Cranbourn Street, between Leicester Square and Charing Cross Road, at dusk.

After a cup of tea, I met up with my wife and we went to look at the "Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Pirze" at the National Portrait Gallery. There was at least one picture in the exhibition that even the average family snapshooter would probably have thrown away, but there were also some stunningly good images. For the last couple of years, I have found this exhibition to be somewhat improved, with fewer pictures of thin, miserable teenage girls standing bored in front of a blank wall, staring at the camera, and more interesting and revealing portraits of a variety of interesting people.

By now we were feeling hungry, so we finished off the evening with a meal at the Portrait Gallery rooftop restaurant. Not cheap, but qood quality food, served with style and a view across the London rooftops. The panorama stretched from the Shard, via the London Eye and the Palace of Wetminster all the way upriver to what I think must have been the new tower block at St George Wharf. I would like to see it again in daylight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.