Gifts of Grace

By grace

Delicious

First weekend I've had free ... forever it seems, what with one thing and another. I even managed to get all the routine errands done so that I didn't have to cross the threshold on a day so grey it's barely gotten light.

The life bursting out of these cabbage leaves demanded, 'Take me home' in the greengrocer's yesterday. When I opened the fridge first thing they yelled 'Eat me, eat me NOW.' It took half an hour celebrating their beauty with the lens before they reached the juicer. Mmmmmm - the smell of pure iron in the morning, HAS to be good for a body.

A morning writing, in the afternoon a LOOOONG bath with bubbles and candles listening to The Four Quartets read (extremely well) by Jeremy Irons. I'd last (first?) read them about twenty years ago and reckoned I might never get around to reading the whole thing again. Absolutely delicious, enhanced by a long soak. Pure decadence. So good I might make it a ritual every day for the week that the programme will be on iPlayer. Burn their magic into my brain, already astonishing how many familiar quotes come from them.

#am writing - this programme really tickles the part that loves language

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.