ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Steaming Coffee.

Pentax K1000, Ilford HP5+, ISO 400

Woke up late today! I love being home in the countryside, no noises to wake you up, except for cows. Mum made us breakfast, then we sat with our coffees and had a natter. I washed all the nasty been-on-a-train dirt out of my hair, then we began the drive out to the Yorkshire sculpture park near Wakefield. Sadly, the traffic in town was crazy, so we decided to skip the park and have a wander in Harrogate instead. Mum and I did a wee bit of shopping (she always ends up being dragged into H&M with me, poor thing) then met up with Dad for a hot chocolate at Batzersen’s, a Norwegian café that opened earlier in the year. Mum and I had spiced orange cake and Dad had sultana boller; it’s such a treat to eat the things I love from Norway here!

There was a Christmas market in town, too, so we stopped past so I could pet the reindeer and evaluate whether there was anything I could buy from the stalls – the answer was no, but we had a nice time looking round :o)

When we got home, I curled up in my favourite leather armchair with a book (Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn – I’m about 12 months behind everyone else in reading it, but it’s very very good so far) while Mum cooked. After a lovely dinner, Mum and I settled down to play Scrabble; our favourite way to spend an evening! I won – just – but the history of the book we’re keeping scores in just now says that I’ve only won 3 games out of the last 9. Might have to play a few more times this weekend to try and even that out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.