ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Diminishing.

Pentax K1000, Ilford HP5+, ISO 400

Another long lie today. I called M from bed to say good morning; I left him in Aberdeen this weekend to work on the hot tub he’s building for a friend. He was still in bed, too – what a lazy pair we are.

When I was finally up, fed, dressed and ready to meet A for lunch, I realised I was 15 minutes late to set off – oops. Dad drove me into town and the traffic was just as bad as it was yesterday. Double oops – I was 40 minutes late to meet A. That’s a new low, even for me. A was my best pal at school and even though we’re both a bit rubbish with keeping in contact, when we meet up again it’s like we were never apart. It’s so rare to have a friend with which you can just pick up the thread again and carry on.

We had a lovely lunch in Betty’s café, a Yorkshire tradition that I love revisiting. It’s not a healthy place to eat, but it is delicious! We drank tea, ate cakes and reminisced, as well as discussing things that we’ve both been up to since we last spoke. After lunch, we had a wander around the Christmas fair I was at yesterday and ooh-ed and ahh-ed at the nice smells and tempting piles of fudge and cakes, then walked up past our old school to get A’s car. She very kindly offered to drive me home and stop in past for another cup of tea with me and Mum. I also managed to ask her to be one of my bridesmaids, too – she seemed very pleased :o) She had to be the first I asked – we’ve known each other so long.

When A left, Mum made us some roast beef for dinner that was delicious – absolutely perfectly cooked. She is a natural chef. We played Scrabble again after dinner, but Mum won this time. That brings the total score for 2013 to 3 vs 7 (me vs Mum). Hmm. I’m going to have to pull out all the stops now (or stop drinking wine while playing)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.