ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Dog in a Sock.

Pentax K1000, Ilford HP5+, ISO 400

Writing this sitting in the arrivals bar in Aberdeen airport, while M goes to pick up Harakiri from his work's car park. It's been a lovely weekend in London, and I've managed to get through nearly 3 rolls of film in as many days! Looking forward to developing them tomorrow night at the fist photography class of the new semester.

This morning we woke up to blue skies again, met Mum and Dad for breakfast early and headed out to Trafalgar Square for a walk before Mum and Dad's train. Our hotel was near Chinatown and all the Chinese bakeries were open this morning selling sesame buns and sticky pastries - it smelled amazing, but far more savory than sweet.

I couldn't resist climbing on the lions at Trafalgar Square for a photo, but Dad obviously wasn't aware of how the built-in light meter on the Pentax works and the aperture was wide open and the exposure set to 1/15 from last night's walk through the streets. I'd have gone back for another opportunity, but a city warden caught me and educated me in the fining policy for sitting on the lions (£80) - luckily I got away with a warning but I wasn't risking it again for another photo!

We had a wander down The Mall and saw the cavalry leaving from Buckingham palace. We followed them back down the street to the parade ground before Mum and Dad needed to dash off for their train. M and I had a wee jaunt out to Camden market for a browse around the stalls; the Lock Street market especially (set up in the old stables) is beautiful and full of good smells (incense, food) and random wee clothes stalls (especially good if you're into Sherlock Holmes or the Addams Family).

We'd arranged to meet up with M and his lady J for lunch at Bethnal Green, right by their current flat, which they're hoping to move out of soon into their new home. We caught the tube and I saw a teeny black mouse running between the tracks! It was so cute, but the lady next to me seemed not to so enamored! When we met M and J, they took us for lunch at a lovely wee place close to their flat... I had a killer melted cheese sandwich on rosemary bread, but the waiter had it in for M (not my M): first there was half an egg shell in his Eggs Royale, then strategically placed ketchup on the door handle... Much hilarity but a great meal too.

On our way home we saw this wee dog tied to a stall in a market. He was super grumpy and I was definitely avoiding getting closer, but his owner saw me taking the photo and hovered above me with a treat so that he a) looked at me, and b) looked a bit happier. I suppose I'd be a bit grumpy if someone put me in a gigantic sock, too. I forget his name, but it was something funny...

There wasn't much of the afternoon left, so M and I caught the tube back to Farringdon and then a train to Luton airport. It took so long to get through security it was a good job we'd left early.

M should be along with the car in a minute and we're planning on driving past Hass' fish and chip shop for tea. Fab weekend, one to repeat again I think... It's easy just to stay in your own city, but when a return to London is just £85 and it opens up so much with galleries, museums and other stuffs, it makes me think we should do it more often :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.