ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Barbers.

Pentax K1000, Ilford HP5+, ISO 400

London Day #2! M and I met Mum and Dad for breakfast at the hotel, then got ready and headed out for a wander to the Maritime Museum. I kept making everyone stop while I took photos, in the end they just started wandering off without me! :o)

On our way to the water ferry we saw:
- David Cameron running past us (close enough to poke in the eye... But I didn't) in short-shorts;
- Lots of Boris Bikes;
- Trafalgar Square;
- A mounted policewoman;
- Guards on horses;
- A multitude of well-dressed, fashionable people; and
- Lots of Americans squeezing into red phone boxes for photos.

We took the ferry all the way up to Greenwich. It was a really interesting tour, with loads of things I didn't know. I love to do the tourist thing. I took far too many photos of London Bridge, but nothing really captured the scale. When we arrived at the Maritime Museum we all split up to look at the different rooms - M liked all the propellers and figureheads they'd collected together, Dad was obsessed by the room on Napoleon and Mum liked all the trading items. I just wanted to people-watch!

We spent a couple of hours wandering, then decided to head up the Thames again (by tube this time) to the lifeboat station. M wanted to say hello to the team there; I think they have quite a different job to the Aberdeen crew, which M is part of. On our way we stopped off at various markets and shops for me; I simply love taking people photos in London. No one cares if you point a camera at them - in fact, I don't think most of them even notice. Today's Blip was taken through the window of a barber's.

While M walked down to the lifeboat station, Mum, Dad and I made a beeline for Somerset House for a coffee and a sandwich. M joined us before we all moved onto the Tate for a look at the BP Portrait Awards. I enjoyed it immensely, although I would have re-jigged the rankings completely.

While Mum and Dad headed back to the hotel, M and I caught a tube to Bond Street so that I could look at all the sparkley jewelry in the windows. We didn't stay long, as we'd planned to take Mum and Dad out for dinner. We found a wee place on Leicester Square called Muriel's, which was great, then after dinner we just walked back to the hotel for a pot of tea. We've walked miles and miles today! Up early tomorrow as Mum and Dad head home at lunchtime and we want to make the most of the day :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.