hpx

By hpx

The Occidental

Something low-level has ailed me today - headache and general misery. I was sent home from work late morning and gladly slept until mid-afternoon.

I had an appointment late afternoon. I gently slunk off to it rather than wait for another (it took a while to get this one). I'm glad I went. The Chinese have been around a while and have a different way of viewing our bodies than us. It made surprising sense to my western scientific mind. Time will tell if it really does make sense of my system.

I was surprised to discover a grand old landmark in Christchurch, The Occidental Hotel, is derelict. I thought it was the oldest surviving hotel in Christchurch. Windows are smashed or boarded up and just about every surface is tagged. I'm not sure but I think it was designed by the architect Benjamin Mountford and built around 1860 - 1870.

I can't get my head around where the Historic Places Trust is when you need them. I guess we're about to witness 'progress' and another soul-less concrete box will take its place.

I don't know what B. Perry, publican from the past would make of it.

An early night and a big sleep for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.