Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Capercaillie : 30th Anniversary Concert

Part of the Celtic Connections festival at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall this evening. A sell out, with audience standing along the balconies. Must have been over 2,300 there.

Brilliant night, with Karen Matheson excelling as ever on the vocal line. They mainly sing in The Gaelic, and even though I don't understand a word, I loved every minute. I took a few shots, and chose this one because Finlay Macdonald appeared playing his bagpipes. I've worked with Finlay in the past, a great guy, an encourager of young players. Julie Fowlis, Kris Drever and Jerry O'Connor made guest appearances. Loads of jigs and reels. Dancing in the aisles by the end. What an atmosphere.

Recorded for BBC Alba, I was also impressed by the lighting, at times haunting, with mixes of dark greens and blues, contrasting with brighter yellows and pinks. I did think the angles and colour combinations looked like different tartans at times.

Here's a wee taste, I'll see what else I can find to add tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.