Angelique

By Angelique

" DEAD DOG SCRUMPY "

And yes that is a song, and the Stoggy Men pictured sang it. Along with Sleepy Old Stogumber and I Wish I Was Back on the Farm. Good old English songs and sang with real passion.

It was the Stogumber Wassail, the blessing of the apple harvest for the year. It's an old custom that seems to take place at this time of year. Ours was followed with a wonderful shared supper, the Stoggy Men and the Barn Dance. After eating the apple crumble, I felt I had to dance every dance, well almost, just to try and shake off all the calories.

This was the highlight of the day, as the weather was so bad, wet and cold, I didn't actually want to get up at all.

Did a bit of craftwork while Mr A worked on a new song for our next Milverton Music Club slot in February.

Hope you have all had a good Saturday whatever the weather and thank you for dropping in to view my journal and being a part of my life. Thankyou. x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.