Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

BUILT IN OBSOLESCENCE(?)

I turned on the Nikon V1 the other day (I do this quite often), and it reported that the battery was past its use-by-date. Now, I bought the camera at the silly fire-sale price (silly in relation to the stupid original price - Thom has commented that the Nikon 1 is designed to reduce manufacturing cost, which makes the original selling price even more stupid) only just over a year ago, and the info on the battery suggests it was made in mid 2012. Nikon use chipped batteries, so the camera/battery are telling me I cannot use this battery any longer - 13 months after buying the camera, and only 18 months after the battery was made? I'm not very happy with some other manufacturers' 'intelligent' batteries, but this is the first time I've found one which just says it is too old after 18 months, and I have to buy another. Although recharging brought it up to a life of 3 out of 4, 4= dead for Nikon) I bought another, £50, but I'm NOT impressed. This battery model is used in some other (popular) Nikon models too (7000 and 7100?). The battery has been used fairly regularly, and recharged as seemed appropriate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.