HelenJG

By HelenJG

Nature Red in Beak and Talons

This was not at all what I planned for my blip today, went for a nice walk at Bosworth Battlefield with my husband and found some good trees to photograph which came out really well with blue skies and clouds.

However, when we got home we discovered that a female Sparrowhawk had obviously just killed one of our regular visitors and was sat on the fence with it.... Of course it's not something you see every day so I had to at least try and get some shots, so carefully stepped away from the window, rushed to get my camera and lens put together again and then crept back to the window fully expecting her to have gone. But no, she sat there for the next 20 minutes carefully plucking the unfortunate bird (I think it was a great tit) and eating it. I chose this one as one of the least grisly for the benefit of sensitive viewers!

Inevitably there was no light so the ISO was cranked up even more than normal, but hope you like seeing something a bit different, the trees will be there for another time, but I'm not sure that I'll have another chance like this one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.