Calibrating and Profiling

My computer does not have an expensive professional colour monitor with a wide colour gamut (ie capable of displaying the full subtle variations in colour which can be captured by my camera). I just have a fairly normal but decent quality screen (a 23" IPS panel for anyone interested). However it can - and should - still be calibrated and profiled to ensure that the colours it displays are as accurate and true to the original as possible.

I also have printer profiles for all the different paper types I use, so that I can be sure that the colours in prints I produce will be as close as possible to the colours I see on the screen.

Colour monitors do drift, so they need re-profiling on a regular basis. So this afternoon I got out the colorimeter and ran the profiling software. There was some adjustment required: it is a long time since I last did this.

So now I'm ready to edit some photographs and produce some competition winning prints!


(Dream on....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.