on the Beara peninsular

I went for a drive up on to the Beara peninsular for a change of scene. I love the drive through the rugged boulder strewn landscape, and I rediscovered a beach I had found once last year near Adrigole.

There is a touching memorial there to five brothers of the O'Sullivan clan whose family hailed originally from this townland. All five brothers were lost when the US Navy ship they served on was sunk during WW2, After that the Navy changed its policy to not allow members of the same family to serve on the same ship. A warship was subsequently named after them - the USS Sullivan, and it traveled here as a salute to them and a plaque was put up to remember that day.

Here I walked a way around the headland. The shore was filled with huge rocks, and across the water there on the right is Hungry Hill draped in cloud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.