Silent Running

I spent most of the day at the House for an Art Lover Wedding Show promoting the Mackintosh Church. I thought I had my blip this afternoon, but as I had some time to kill before picking up my daughter, I made my way over to the Squinty Bridge.

I did not realise that the Top Gear Live show was on at the SSE Hydro tonight and I got caught up in the busy traffic. The light was beautiful this evening and it was good to watch the sky change over the Armadillo and Hydro Arena.

I chose this shot as it had a Sci-Fi feel and it reminded me of the film Silent Running, with the domes and the beautiful lighting on the trees. It also looks like the Armadillo is about to eat the Hydro.

Silent Running is one of my favourite Sci-Fi movies. This low budget environmentalist film from 1971 stars a young Bruce Dern. The Earth has created domes in space to preserve the forests from pollution or a possible nuclear war. Bruce Dern is a forest ranger on a spacecraft taking care of the domes. When he is ordered to destroy the domes by the government, he rebels and kills the other rangers in self defence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.