BoHingles Blips

By BoHingles

Meet Clifford & Bernard

The gentleman on the right is Clifford, one of the most important people in my life other than my family when I was growing up. I've known him since I was eight when I joined a Wolverhampton Cycling club and have had many great times with him. I bumped into him today whilst enjoying a ride in the wonderful January sun and spent a few hours in his company.

Even though he is 48 years older than me I've always enjoyed spending time with him and hearing his brilliant tales of life. I had my first ever beer with him (think I was 14), been on many cycling holidays with him, even had to dress wounds on him and spent many a cold Sunday lunchtimes in the pub with him when I was too young to drink.

Last year my father and I went to Germany with him so he could meet up with an Austrian Professor he befriended post war who he'd stayed in touch with through pen and paper for more than 60 years without actually seeing each other in all that time.

When I was about 14 I remember him turning up for a Sunday morning ride only days after having 30+ stitches in his arm after nearly chopping it off with a chainsaw (the man has no fear and has the attitude for life to just carry on).

Clifford Turner is the most un-materialistic person I've ever met while being the happiest man I know and as long as he can ride his bike it will remain that way. My father and I have untold respect for this man who rides his bike for fun, to get his shopping and as an alternative to the car or bus which is truly remarkable for a man in his eighties. He can easily clock up over 100 miles in a week.


Happy 83rd birthday for tomorrow Cliff

Thanks for reading

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.