Moments

By togrrrl

The Scream, or, I can't believe I'm in Toronto...

300 e-mails, a lineup of problems, the piles of paper, sitting inside on a beautiful day.

I CAN"T BELIEVE I'M IN TORONTO!

Back to work after a fantastic visit with my friend Linda, her partner Terry and various friends, WWOOFer Jamie, and the beautiful surroundings of Big Hill Retreat.

Happy to be with my wonderful family -- but mundane life, drat, why do we have to earn a living?

So, someone once told me when I was at a low point in my life to write down 5 good things that happened every day.

So here are my 5 BEST things for today (apart from love from my husband and son):

1) Getting to work and hearing migrating white throated sparrows in the bushes calling to each other. I stood and listened and heard them all around me, near and far. I've never noticed this so clearly before - the secret lives all around us.

2) Seeing some weird animal poop, also at the entrance way to work. It looks like some sort of predator - in the middle of a big city! This makes me happy. I love nature.

3) Going to a private, catered management lunch at the Art Gallery of Ontario. It's so fun to see an inner sanctum and get free food. It was worth listening to the boring and meaningless speeches.

4) Feeling the camaraderie and appreciation and friendship I have at work. Despite some of the work, it's a pretty good place.

5) My drawing class at the art gallery. I drew a dent in a garbage can that looks 3 dimensional!!!!! Wow, I can't believe I did that!

Sign off until tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.