Moments

By togrrrl

Green Darner at my door

I found this (unfortunately) dead Green Darner dragonfly lying on the granite walkway outside my work. I passed it by but then couldn't resist sneaking outside to retrieve it and study it in detail.

When I was a little kid, I used to retrieve the corpses of birds that had flown into the window - do we ever grow up or grow out of our childlike curiousity? But I digress.

Green Darners are a mystery of nature. These dragonflies migrate south in the fall. You can see hundreds of them a day skimming along the shore of Lake Ontario until they get to a place where they can cross over.

NO ONE KNOWS WHERE THEY GO. Isn't it wonderful that there are still mysteries that our scientists haven't puzzled out? Isn't it wonderful that their journey continues on year after year?

What does it feel like to be a dragonfly with the urge to migrate? Is it like I feel when I have to go home after a long day at work? Hmmmm......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.