bluecat

By bluecat

Bed

I really didn't want to get out of bed this morning. Not really thinking I will tomorrow either. Being cosy in bed is really comforting - I often wish I could stay there.

I think Montaigne wrote and thought about the small/ordinary but good things in life, if my memory and understanding is correct. One thing that I love is that he apparently had a bell chime at a certain time in the very early morning, just enough to wake him out of sleep, not forcefully so he has to get up, but simply to enjoy that feeling of comfortable sleepiness or half-awakeness. Well, I heard that in a documentary a while ago, so I think my memory might have changed the details a bit, but this is what I've remembered since it resonated with me at the time. I really love that feeling! And I love how Montaigne allowed himself to enjoy the little things like that. I feel like it'd be good for me to be able to continue to appreciate fleeting feelings like that, although I know I tend to try to cling onto them too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.