Waiting for my taxi

For the third week day in row I hopped off to the Bone Shop today. The fisher/hunter dropped me off on his way to work and I caught a taxi home. This is the underside of the roof extension in the drop off area of Christchurch Public Hospital.

More to see large

Yesterday was a wonderful change of scene and distraction from things that aren't going so well. But today (and last night) I needed to needed try and sort a few things.

The Moon Boot I was changed into on Friday hasn't worked. It's bigger, heavier and more clunky than a fibreglass cast. Worse still my leg and foot always moved so my foot was no longer at 90 degrees. I was constantly having to reset my leg and foot in it only to have my heel lift off the sole again. I'm sporting various red marks on my bony feet. Sleeping in it was awful too and I often had pain right where the fracture is.

Today they put me back into a purple fibreglass cast. It's engineered to avoid giving me numb toes or rub at the base of my little toe. Hopefully this one is right, if not I'll be back to the Bone Shop again.

There was more talk about further casts, the return of the moon boot and possible surgery, but it's all an unknown and hopefully I'll heal quickly and fully.

The other thing to sort today was home help. It's day 11 since I broke my foot and there is only so much you can ask friends to do. But today everything has sorted. I even had someone arrive to do 1 hour of housework and laundry for me this afternoon.

I've spent a lot of time with my foot down today - to and from my appointment, in the kitchen and getting things ready for home help. I'm pretty tuckered out but I'm pleased today seems to have solved the cast/boot issues, and help at home is underway.

Might have a big lazy day tomorrow ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.