The Straight Story

Blipfoto really gets under your skin, doesn't it. Deary me. I pride myself on being fit and healthy, but what a blow I received yesterday. I woke up Sunday morning with shoulder pain. Don't know why. Around 1100 Kazuko put a hot pad on it. It eased up a bit. After a nice hot herbal bath in the evening I felt much better for about half an hour, then suddenly the pain returned in both shoulders, neck and back giving me a severe headache too. A while later, any head movements left, right, up or down resulted in agonising pain.

I got up this morning at 0530 as usual to do the laundry but trying to hang it up resulted in unbearable pain. So, no work today. My X-ray revealed that, thankfully, there is no damage but my neck, which should be bowed, is completely straight. The doctor predicts it will take about one week to recover and I need daily physiotherapy. At 1830, it looks unlikely that I will be ready for work tomorrow but I'm keeping my fingers crossed for Wednesday. Lying in bed all day without being able to move my head because of the pain which would result is not my idea of fun; give me work and the ability to move freely any time.

One good thing; I know how much I will appreciate my freedom from pain when it returns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.