... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Figwort Weevil

More weevil in large ("L").

Well, I found this weevil (it is a figwort weevil, Cionus scrophulariae) yesterday evening, on my desk. I'm not sure how it got there, but its wings were out, so perhaps it flew in my window. It was on its back with its legs in the air and wings out, which didn't seem a very dignified pose in which to die.

Oh well, "blip sorted for tomorrow", I thought.
I work up this morning to find it still there, but in a different place. Hum, perhaps a draft moved it. So, I got out my flash and macro lens, but on my first shot it started to wriggle its legs!
I tried to turn it over with a piece of paper but it just kept rolling onto its back (silly thing), so I poked it with my propelling pencil and it grabbed on: here it is crawling along my pencil. It still hadn't put its wings away; I'm not sure it was very well.

Anyway, I put it outside after my photo-session; I mentioned it to the gardener and he asked me where I'd put it, as they've been devastating his figwort... Oops.

p.s. Aw, it was the cute Egyptian goose with no eye spots last year: she was dusted with snow! ---------------------------------------->

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.