louielouie

By louielouie

The Hielanman's Umbella

Zig Zag Big Band rehearsal tonight just around the corner from here in Oswald Street so thought it would make a good subject for today's Blip.

The Hielanman's Umbrella (or Highlandman's Umbrella) is the local Glasgow nickname for the tunnel on Argyle Street that passes under Central Station.

The story goes that for many years it was a meeting place for Highlanders who arrived in the city. They chose to meet under the bridge to avoid the rain that is sometimes known to affect the city. They weren't daft.

Most Highlanders that I know would now rather meet in one of the many pubs in the Finnieston area of town. I cant say I blame them either as there are some fantastic bars in that neck of the woods. Lovers of Malt Whisky are especially well catered for.

I'm rather partial to that bit of town too these days when I'm seeking shelter from the rain and a refreshment or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.