Dizzy2302

By Dizzy2302

Sounds of the Seventies

The Wurzels are a Somerset based Scrumpy and Western band probably best known for their 1976 number one "Combine Harvester" The name of the band was dreamt up by the band's founder Adge Cutler, being a shortened version of mangelwurzel, a crop grown to feed livestock. "Wurzel' is also sometimes used as a synonym for "yokel". The Wurzels' particular "genre" of music was named Scrumpy and Western after the group's first EP of the same name, issued early in 1967. Scrumpy is a name given to traditionally-made cider in southwest England, popular amongst The Wurzels and their fans, and frequently referred to in their songs. The Blackbird was the B side of Combine Harvester and I can do a pretty good rendition in my "very" broad Darzet accent but only after a little of the amber nectar ;-). To read the lyrics you MUST perfect your West Country accent otherwise the dialogue may be a little tricky!!

[Chorus]
Where be it Blackbird to?
I know where he be,
He be up yon Wurzel tree,
And I be after he!
Now I sees he, And he sees I,
Bugger'd if I don't get 'en
Wit a girt big stick I'll knock 'im down
Blackbird, I'll 'ave thee!
La la la la la la
La la la la la la
'Ow's 'E Fadder?
(Audience Answer) Allright!

All me life I'm on the farm,
Workin' for me keep
Tendin' pigs and chickens,
And they cows and sheep
And then while I'm workin',
There's one who always mocks me
He sittin up 'dere in the trees,
Blackbird I'll 'ave thee!

Chorus

Underneath the open sky
In spring we loves to dine.
We likes to 'ear the flappin'
Of the missus' washin' line
We listens to a tuneful song,
A blackbird or a tit,
But on me vest and underpants
He scored a direct hit!

Chorus

If I goes out poachin',
A creepin' through the fields,
With me old retriever,
A followin' at me heels.
If I aim me shotgun at a pheasant in the hay
That bloody blackbird starts his row
And frightens him away!

Chorus

No longer can I sleep at night,
Get peace of any kind,
That bird'll be the death of me,
He's prayin' on me mind!
If I chase him long enough,
I'll get 'en by and by,
And celebrate me vict'ry
Wit a girt big blackbird pie!

Chorus

I dare you to check this out on YouTube ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.