Another Political rant and an Edinburgh encounter.

The question that seems to be kicking about an awful lot over the last couple of days is:

Should Nick Griffin (leader of the British National Party) be allowed airtime on the national institution that is BBC Question Time?

Now there have been a few people saying that he shouldn't be allowed on Question Time, most notably Peter Hain (Welsh Secretary I think) who is trying to legally stop the BBC from allowing him on.

I'm not sure if I'm in a minority or not but I am firmly of the opinion that he has every right to appear on the programme. I haven't read up on any of the BNP's policies or Nick Griffin himself but whether anyone deems his opinions right or wrong he was voted in by a section of the public and thus represents opinions held by these voters.

I think he is in the position he is because he is good at dealing with these situations but it could be positive if Griffin is made to squirm on Question Time and put his opinions on full show. Positise as it may motivate more voters to further marginalise his party. I've actually never voted but this coupled with my mis-represented opinion on the Lockerbie bomber case has made me consider breaking my voting silence.

One thing that really perplexes me is how some people (such as Peter Hain) don't realise the amount of free publicity they are offering people in these situations by blaring about it on every media source known to man.

I don't agree with racism in any form but I equally don't agree that just because someone holds a different opinion that anyone has the right to silence them. You can't know a whole story if you're only told one side of it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes on the Picture
On a lighter note, whilst I was waiting for Catherine today I was stood next to an Edinburgh character from my BlipBank so I decided to take advantage of the spare minutes to find out about him.

Meet Vadym. He is from Lithuania and has been standing with this sign across from Ryan's bar for 2 years. Every day at about 1640 he takes the sign and brings it along to the restaurant it is advertising collects the board outside and take both in. I pass him every day as I go to catch my bus home and every time I see him he always has a smile on his face.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.