faithfuljune

By faithfuljune

A fear against the charity

Not that because I am a student and have no income, did I gave up dropping a dollar into the jar that was raised right in front of my face and being asked sincerely to do some charity.

A dollar donation to me perhaps equals to one less can of Coke which brings me relaxation sometimes. (Well... of course I am just using some metaphor...one could never buy a can of coke with one dollar here...in Hong Kong....) I also know quite well that this one dollar may mean a lot to so many people in need.

However, there are also possibilities that these money I could have donated never ended up in the pockets of the people in need, rather those of the corrupted.

Today, on my way to school, when I was waiting for the green light, I was asked keenly to donate some changes into the plastic box to help some disabled children. The gentleman looked quite sincere, I can tell. But I refused with a silence.

I was, as a matter of fact, quite ashamed of myself not offering helping hand and taking part in the charity affairs. But I was more scarified by the assumption that I may have been merely allured to give money and to feed those greed.

Yet, ultimately, the instinct withdrawal from participation of charity stems from the fact that I hate to see a corrupted world with such an innocent excuse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.