Nellie Travels

By Padstowbabe

Another trip down memory lane!

Today I returned to a place I love.

I have written about it before and today I went to visit the farmer and his wife who are responsible for me living here....meeting my husband....and therefore are responsible for my children being here!!

It was very emotional on my part. As I was driving there I was remembering incidents and events. I remembered how good the farmer and his wife were to me for many years and how they shaped me and my future life. I remember milking cows......walking through the fields in the sun....going to market.....carrying crates of milk....many a happy Christmas....weaning calves onto a bucket of milk......standing by the milk cartoning machine....going down in the dark at night to the farm to check on a calving cow......going to the pub........how I met the local vet at their farm (I subsequently got a job with him when I qualified)......how the farmer's wife used to help with the local veterinary clinic......how their son used to tease me about when I was leaving (he was only little)...... the farmer giving me driving lessons.......and much much more, all happy!

So when I walked in their door I was so worked up and emotional that I burst into tears......I blame my age!! But it was really lovely. We looked at photos and caught up on each other's lives. Somehow it was like coming home and just felt right. It also put life into perspective and made me remember past times and made me realise how I got to where I am in life now. It also made me really thankful for what and whom I have in my life now. Thank you Bill and Sheila! It wasn't such a nice day weather wise as the last time I visited though! This was taken just below their house....what a view they have!

I managed to visit another friend that I don't see very often on the way home too!

When I got back I was invited to supper with an old friend from College who is staying nearby for the week. I went to L's parents night and was very pleased with all the feedback and I am going out with the girls on Friday.

A good week so far!

Go on.....have a wee trip down your own happy memory lane today!

Oh and thanks for all the "bum" jokes yesterday, you lot really dredged the "bottom" of the barrel!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.