todayoutof10

By todayoutof10

Tired and emotional

I've backdated my blip - hope it works...

Yesterday I went to another Celtic Connections gig - this time RM Hubbert (winner of the Scottish album of the year last year) and a few, equally talented musical chums.

It's the first time I've seen 'hubby' play live and it was quite something. Having suffered from severe depression for many, many years, he decided to take up flamenco guitar to improve his wellbeing. He described learning, writing and performing as cathartic and enabling him, for the most part, to manage his illness without counselling and medication.

His honesty, humour, meaningful lyrics and spellbinding guitar playing left me and my chum feeling thoroughly entertained but pretty emotional.

Hubby thinks all artists are driven to connect something of themselves with others. He certainly succeeded last night.

Go see him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.