TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Down by the Riverside...

It was still dark this morning when the excercise started under our Gardian Oaktree. I had left my Lumix inside because of the lack of any glimps of daybreak in the darkgrey sky. Again a misty start. But halfway down the hillslope, as it became lighter, suddenly, instead of taking the way up into the forest, I moved to the right where you find a small footpath further downhill. "O, Desire..I must see the little cascade in the brook down there. And,.. I want to feel that "Down at the riverside"-thing.
I had been there some weeks ago. Had seen a very odd kind of waterfall:
the brook was nearly barred with wood, stones, debris of the last storm. But the streaming of the waters is alway stronger. So, under the small stony bridge you could see and hear the splashing of water out of ...a broken umbrella - stuck upside down between the rocks. After surrendering under the forces of stormy rains this black "para-pluie" had to live its world upside-down and was pouring out the infinite streaming of this small hillside brook.
But today, to my surprise, no more umbrella stuck under the bridge. The laughing splashing of the cascade was still present, but apparently someone had cleaned up the bed. And it feels good to know that this splendid little brook is looked after with care. After that surprising and meditative pause, I followed the course of the brook down to the riverside...Ah!...isn't it as liberating as at the seaside! That's why we are so lucky to enjoy both the borders of that great sea and of this beautiful river. It was still too dark to retain good pictures with my smartphone.
But before midday we took another way down to our beloved Weserriver. And there we went as we have done so many years and times before. Nearly no walkers to see on this dark-grey riverside journey. You can read more about it in Admirers Journal. As for me,I'm happy to show you this humble sketch of my misty Down by the Riverside feeling experience.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.