If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Bright Tarn looking towards Carrock Fell

While out blip hunting today I decided it was time I had a look at Bright Tarn.

I know it looks like a flood in a field but it is a permanent tarn marked on the OS maps as Bright Tarn. It doesn't look spectacular but the view over towards the geologically interesting area round Carrock Fell is worth a look.

You would be forgiven for saying that there was no tarn if you drove along the road as it is hidden from the road by a belt of trees a hundred yards or so deep. The tarn its self attracts a wide range of birds to the surrounding rough grazing particularly in spring. The expected Curlew and Lapwing are there but also duck and I have even seen a Goosander. The tarn itself also supports Newts (at least it did last time I looked).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.