South Coast Scribblings

By SueSouth

The one remaining thatched cottage

This is the one and only thatched cottage that was left standing in Goring-by-Sea. I think it's rather unusual and looks like a modern house that's had a thatched roof tacked on afterwards! Apparently it is old though and used to be one of two thatched cottages near the local forge...I will show you what became of the other one tomorrow. I haven't been able to find out what age the cottage is, but will try and find out more if I can. It's in such an urban area now that it was impossible to get a good clear photo - the first one had a lamp post in it and this one had the branches of a tree partly over the roof, which I thought was better! I have made it sepia to make it look older, but the buildings around it are all modern and there's also a garage very nearby.

Spent the morning watching the Murray/Federer match which I thought was really good, but Murray obviously had a few problems with his back, though he tried to cover it up. This afternoon I went to the hairdresser to have my roots re-done and a trim. It's such a friendly place that I love going there - the first time I've really felt that about a hairdresser's in years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.