a bit of a steal

This is one of a series of photos I took for my mum today.
She wants me to send to my sister in Australia some photos of a couple of wall hangings dad made. My niece is exhibiting some of her own work and wants to combine stuff from other generations. (I think)

This part that Dad painted to represent Miles Davis is a section from a wall hanging he made while doing an art course in his fifties, after retiring from teaching due to angina. The whole piece was supposed to represent himself. As a whole it's a lovely composition and I would be more than happy to have it hanging around my home.

We're making the most of the quietness of January here. I did half an hour of gruelling yoga this morning and took 2 x walks. I've been quietly fitting in lots of exercise every day for over a week now. I've been combining yoga, dog-walking, housework, cycling and just generally moving a lot. I'm also getting on top of financial shop stuff, household stuff, and between us Richard and I have turned our filthy, clapped out old oven into a spanking, shiny, beautiful thing. Today we took off the door and replaced the hinges and I cleaned inside the glass. I figure it's cost us about £90 to make it like new.

Mum came over just before Tess finished school and told me about a weird and wonderful dream she had. I'd love to steal it and turn it into a story.

Then we had Tess's solar system homework to finish. It took all evening - on and off - but we finished it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.