Confluence

We had a disturbed night here in Kaiteriteri. A very strong gusty sou-west wind blew up around 1.30am. Folk had to get out of bed to secure awnings and gazebos and the like. The wind shook the caravan and roared around the awning. All was still, but cool, when I arose at 5.45am. A nice dawn sky was promised. So it was down to the beach before sunrise. There was nobody else on the beach. Some seagulls screeched over-head. It was almost as if they were attacking me. I think they thought I was competing for their food at the mouth of the stream which drains the estuary.
Of course I captured far too many images as usual. The sheer number makes for difficult choices…. What to delete…what to keep. I am trying to become more ruthless as the sensor on the Nikon D610 is huge and I don’t want bloated hard drives.
Today’s image is of the confluence of the stream which was draining the estuary and the sea. The tide was going out but small waves were persisting in pushing a little way upstream against the water running out of the estuary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.