Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

Gromit Knitting

Inspired by the BBC Radio Scotland News piece this morning on Stitches across the Bridge, I rummaged through the boys' cupboards to find this jumper that Gran knitted for them when they were small.

I wondered, had she been alive, if she would have created something for this "Homecoming" project? She loved to knit and blessed so many new babies in her church with jackets, jumpers, hats etc. The family benifitted too, and I have kept all the items she made for us. When D saw the jumper today, he asked me never to part with it as it holds so many special memories, and he would like his children to wear it one day.

The knitted items will be strung across the Skye Bridge over the weekend. What an interesting way to celebrate the Year of Homecoming. As you will see from my summer holiday entry, it is a long bridge to fill with small items.

So Gran has made an appearance on Blipfoto ..... "What's that?" I can just hear her say.

Late Edit on Sat 24 Oct - The BBC have just issued a "high winds weather warning" on the Skye Bridge. I wonder if some of the knitting will blow off.

S

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.