RESULT....YIPPEE

First of all my apologies to Albert & Franz whose opinions on the problem I did not really believe. I thought a starter motor either worked or it didn't - if it showed a sign of life and turned over the motor, then it was OK. In my time I have "repaired" one with a good hit with a hammer on my old Beetle motor, which was the proof for me (the blow freed the stuck spring).

However today I learnt otherwise. Jürgen the wizz mechanic came over with a new starter (cheaper than all the spare parts mine needed!). He built it in. The moment he hit the starter button, the motor turned over faster than it ever has in the last 12 years. And I thought the 13 year old batteries were flat!

At first the motor wouldn't respond and I could see a sceptical look on Jürgens face suggesting the only things that probably worked on the tractor were the tyres! However he persevered and then suddenly the smoke started (a very good sign for me) and then slowly the old gal started making familiar sounds and sprang in to life! Jürgen drove her out and started his inspection.

As proof, Angie took a few photos with her broken mobile. The camera lens on the back cover now has a hole in it so all photos have a smog effect. Would not have been a problem as there was so much smoke billowing out. However I have chosen one I took before it started, so as to include Angie & the dogs.

Jürgen was less pessimistic about the JD once it had warmed up but the water pump has to be replaced, it's wobbling about & leaking. To do a proper job of getting the motor back in to good working order, we are talking about 3-4000 Euros. If done I would be lucky to get 3000 Euros if I then sold it. So for the moment it's not an option. Hope & pray. She's 50 next year and given the lack of use we offer her, she is doing a grand job.

I quickly used the opportunity of her warm and working to collect a silage bale

Jürgen was a real "find", thanks to Albert's recommendation. He technically knows it all but most importantly he wants to get his fingers dirty on these old machines - it's a challenge which he wants to win. In my normal farm machinery workshop they are always helpful and "understanding" but one knows that they don't really want to spend much ime on such ancient equipment or part-time hobby smallholders especially as it's difficult for them to justify the costs they (rightly) have.

Jürgen spends 9 months of the year at the local golf course doing as he says "everything" which involves grass but especially keeping the machines running. Would have been good to have had son-in-law Barry along. They would have got on well, if one could solve the language problem - Jürgen speaks a really very strong Swabian version of Bavarian. Extraordinary how just 4km can make such a difference in speech.

So a tired & happy Bliper even though he still hasn't caught up on his Blip duties.

Have a quick Friday y'all.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.