The second half of life..

By twigs

Jim

Seemed to take foreer to go to sleep last night . . . . . a few things playing on my mind :( On the up-side though, once I had fallen asleep I slept well and woke feeling reasonably refreshed. The sun was hinting at coming out and the air was fresh and earthy. Nice :)

This section of the Coast holds no great appeal for me - it's not spectacular mountains like further south and it's not spectacular ocean and bush like further north. It's 'nice' in parts but today I decided that a reasonably straight forward drive through to north of Greymouth would be the go then I could slow down a bit and enjoy the Paparoa area where I know there are some great beaches. As I approached Greymouth however, I had the urge to track down a car wreckers to see if they had a reversing mirror for the van (I had another reversing ding yesterday - same damage as when I had my first one a few weeks ago. Must be a blind spot for me!) I found one of what appeared to be only 2 wreckers yards 5 minutes out of Greymouth at Cobden.

The area is very rustic. The three characters I met at this spot were equally rustic. 2 brothers and a third guy who all seemed to be working in one way or another at the yard. Unfortunately they didn't have a mirror for me but I was so taken by the character of the whole scene I asked if they'd mind if I took a shot of 2 of them (the shy brother and the other fella) in front of the workshop. That done (mental note - don't ask for "a" picture, ask if they'd mind if I took a series in future) the brother asked if I'd like to see inside the workshop. He took me what felt like a long way to the back of the (very full and cramped!) area where he ceremonioulsy pointed out this car which, he told me, was his brothers pride and joy. A 1937 Ford something (can anyone help me out here?). Of course, I had to have another picture, though he was a little hesitant saying it should really be with his brother. When the other brother - the owner - came by, I of course took this shot of him which he was pretty chuffed with.

This wee encounter prompted him to tell me he had a museum next door.

Wow!

"Next door" turned out to be an old scout hall where he - Jim - and a 96 year old business partner (who had recently died but who used to live in the back rooms of the building!) used to collect and store all sorts of collectibles. . . . . hundreds of assorted caps, Elvis and Coca~Cola memorabilia, an old BSA motorcycle, old dial phones, bottles, a cash register, police uniform, sewing machines, children's toys, signs, adverts, food cans . . . . I could have spent hours in there! He told me he was retiring in a couple of years though and would be getting rid of everything . . . . . then as we turned to leave I spotted his collection of old cameras. I obvioulsy showed quite some interest because he offered me one of them for a price I couldn't say no to!

So there you have it - went to wreckers yard, shopped for reversing mirror, came away with old Kodak camera! And met some real characters along the way too. Prikceless :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.