goa

By goa

'You are fat, but not very fat,'

'You are fat, but not very fat,' mused the bearded material seller as we were discussing how much material I would need for a top. Reassured, because I guess that must make me an XL rather than an XXL I opted for 3 metres to be on the safe side.

We've been to Margao today. Margao is the capital of southern Goa well establised by the Portugese by 1565 when they built a large church on the site of an ancient Hindu temple. We set off early before the covered market with its maze of dark alleys got crowded and heated up. Loads to look at, lots of pictures taken, I have chosen this one of the chilli seller as my blip. I think he looks sort of regal and is a small island of calm amongst the general hubbub. We managed just over an hour in there before breaking out into the sunlight clutching our purchases to find Marcellino our driver waiting for us.

Then it was time to look round the church which was also a hive of activity. Ladies were decorating it with pretty white tulips made of rice paper and greenery tied together with golden bows for a wedding taking place this evening. Outside two teams of girls played volleyball in the square shaded by huge old mango trees and their shouts followed us as we crossed the square to visit the undertakers I spotted on the way in. Tiers of coffins lined the walls and in the middle stood one supported by stools, I don't think there was a body in it but who knows. I did ask if I could take photos and they let me record the high sheen of the wood, the brass corners and decorative bits and bobs, I could see the rough wood of the slatted bottoms of the highest stacked coffins, presumably they are lined inside!

On the way back we got my glasses fixed, one of the nose pieces had broken and was really uncomfortable, not any longer! We saw fish sellers with this mornings catch by the side of the road, the mackrel looked quite good, bright eyes and shiny scales but we didn't buy. We had another visit to the supermarket and this time we stocked up from the bottle shop. Hooray! Then we found the tailor, opposite Varca church behind a row of lock up shops. I have left one lot of material there to see how he does, he says it will be ready tomorrow and it will cost me about £2.50.

Back home to find the pool is now open again so we have been wallowing this afternoon. Bliss. Gin will be opened this evening TGIF! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.