Marc's Photo-a-Day 2014

By marc2014

Oxford Circus Night Buses

One of my New Year's resolutions: to let less photo opportunities go by.

Tonight I was in a cab returning from a long night of travel - a very delayed flight out of Zurich to Gatwick, and then a train ride to Victoria, late enough to miss the last tube home. Not wanting to find and catch a bus in the rain, I caught a cab. As it was driving down Oxford Street, I noticed how beautiful the wet streets reflected the many lights, and thought to myself "that would make a great photo". I got home, put my bags down, collected my tripod, unpacked my camera and headed back out the door at 1am.

Crazy.

But it's a resolution, and it's day three of the new year. Well, I guess it's actually just very late at night on the second day, so even more reason to stick to my resolutions.

Notice that I didn't say "don't let photo opportunities go by". Just less. There was a photogenic angry and tired looking man at Zurich airport, but I didn't have the heart to take his portrait, sitting there amongst all the other angry and tired passengers. Maybe that's the kind of bravery I'll have by the end of 2014.

Anyway - here's a long exposure (six seconds) photo of a bus turning a corner from Oxford Street into Regent Street, better known as Oxford Circus, and about 45 seconds' walk from my front door.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.