Mercedes

This is my mom's best friend, Mercedes. She's staying with us for the weekend. I hear she's also going to live with me in December which I'm very excited to hear. She and my mom have been good friends ever since my mom was pregnant with me... so for 27 years now. (I can't believe I'm turning 27 in January. Ugh.)
Mercedes was born and raised in Madrid and has lived in the US for about 34 years. Her accent is still incredibly thick after all this time here and she speaks 100% Castellano with my mom. I speak Italian to her because I don't know the Spanish vocabulary so much, but I have always understood Spanish thanks to her. My family always likes to make fun of her translations of English. They're hysterical.
She called someone a "raper" today... something about people who don't pay rent.

EDIT: She just told me that she was an extra in a lot of movies in the 60's in Spain. She was in "Villa Rides" in 1968 with Robert Mitchum ("Villa Cavalga" en espanol) and some other movie around then with Kirk Douglas.

We're celebrating my sister's 31st birthday tonight with a family dinner and I cannot wait to give Catherine the presents I got her! I've been waiting all month.

Apparently I've ruined Evie's day today because she couldn't find a black crayon. Obviously.

Happy that my biggest big brother,David, is blipping again.. or so he tells me. ;)
I'm feeling so much better and hopefully it's on the up and up from here. I'm going to allow myself a cup of coffee every other morning at the most because addictions are just ridiculously annoying.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.